Disappointment Is Only But A Delay

IMG_20170412_191118_601

 

So A few days ago, I got a letter in the mail to a seminary school that applied for months ago. In a nutshell, the committee that reviewed my application denied my enrollment into the school. Certainly, I was disappointed but not dismayed in the event that I will apply again by the deadline for the Fall of 2018. But I will admit, it did feel like a punch in the gut to me. I thought about getting mad, just walking around angry, and carrying a bad attitude going into Resurrection Sunday. But Jesus didn’t die for me so that I can carry a bad attitude into a celebration of him rising again.

I;ve been down this road before, twice actually. It was in regards to job interviews. I can remember being a strong candidate thinking in both interviews that I had this in the bag. No, I wasn’t cocky but I figure since I carried a good reputation at these two offices, that I was a strong enough candidate to be considered. Needless to say, that in both positions, other candidates were selected. So why am I telling you this? Far to often when we fall short in a situation; whether it is applying for a job, in a relationship or marriage, a bad financial choice, we think that our life is over…literally. We have the mental understanding that at that very moment nothing else matters and everything is now still. One would think it is death only we are still alive in this moment.

We take disappointment so personal, we look at it as an ultimate failure. We see it as “You can never come back from this, so just give in.” And normally we do. But what if I could encourage you that the disappointment that you have received is not the end of the world. As I was maulling through scripture, I came across Habakkuk 2:3, which states…

For the revelation awaits an appointed time;
    it speaks of the end
    and will not prove false.
Though it linger, wait for it;
    it[a] will certainly come
    and will not delay.

We tend to forget that God is in control. Far too often, we may get a head start or shove from God and turn back, look at God and say “thank God for the push, but I can take it from here.” Little can we comprehend that from start to finish we need God. You not getting what you want at this very moment doesn’t mean that you won’t receive it. I remember hearing about how people wanted to get married at a young age but just didn’t realize first, what went into a marriage and second, the issues both old and new a couple would face and how to strive in the face of adversity. God would love all his children to get married, however, there is a “season” under heaven for everything, even for something like marriage; see Ecclesiastes 3.

Another time was how miserable I was at a job. In fact, supposedly I thought I was doing so bad, I thought I was going to get a phone call one day that I was fired. Well, God had other plans. Here is what happened; prior to leaving one job I decided to go to a job fair. I submitted my resume to a different agency. I thought nothing of it at the time but little did I know the seed that I just planted. So almost two months later, I can a call for a job interview and within two weeks, I got the job. I was more than excited because I could remember mornings I rode to work wonder how my day would go. I even recall listening to Marvin Sapp’s “Yes You Can” and encouraging myself that I was going to push through it.

So what am I telling you. First, just because you don’t get what you want at this present time, it doesn’t mean that you won’t get it. Remember, Michael Jordan didn’t make his high school basketball team the first go around. Second, there isn’t a time frame on when God will bless you. One of the biggest falsehoods that man has come to believe is that if God doesn’t bless man in “man’s time” then God is either a liar or not real. Both of these claims are not true. And let me say again that the things you would like to receive from God isn’t on your time, but on God’s time.

So, I ask that you stay in prayer and try to see the bigger picture. That revelation you are seeking is there, it’s coming, but when the timing is perfect.

Leave a Reply

