Entering That New Chapter

Wesley Theological Seminary Chapel
Wesley Theological Seminary Chapel

Entering a new chapter in your life can be both excited and scary. You have done the same thing so many and for so long you are ready to start a brand new adventure. I mean, you pray for it, you work hard, and you keep telling yourself this no matter how many bad days you have that there is light at the end of the tunnel. When you finally are able to close a chapter behind you, you feel in many cases happy. You could feel sad that a particular part of your life is over, such as parents seeing their kids leave for college or a service member being deployed to another country in the military. The first chapter in your life doesn’t have to be your birth any more than the last chapter of your life has to be death. What we do know is that every time a new opportunity comes into our life, a new chapter has begun. For me, I don’t think I have officially closed the old chapter until I have officially begun the new chapter.

Right now, I am currently starting a new chapter on my own. I have just started my first semester of Seminary School. On one hand, I am very excited simply because it’s a new opportunity to expand on my understanding in terms of learning the Gospel, but I guess I am also somewhat nervous, not because I am scared of answering anything wrong or not doing something like preaching in a certain way. My goal is to be able to relate issues to on earth to what is in the Bible.

One of the best things about entering into a new chapter in your life is that you are the author. And since you are the author, you can pretty much customize your own story. The question is does your story, as a Christian, reflect the values of what God wants you to reflect? Or are you marching to your own horn that is either constantly rewriting the same chapter.

It’s your chapter, so write it!

This is one of the beauties of your life, while your fate by God is already set; you still have the option to choose. But you must choose wisely for your failures as well as your successes will be a part of your new chapter. Now, have you ever tried writing a new chapter of your life with God involved? It can be a bit scary because you’re not in control, but understand with God as your compass, you will achieve things that you couldn’t possibly imagine.

In The Book of Joshua, Joshua was given a monumental task of leading nations after the death of Moses. I don’t know about you, but I would say “What did I just get myself into?” or “Why me?” This was a new chapter in the life of Joshua. He began to lead 2 million people, but all God asked of was described in Joshua 1:5-8 which reads…

“No one will be able to stand against you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will never leave you nor forsake you. Be strong and courageous, because you will lead these people to inherit the land I swore to their ancestors to give them. Be strong and very courageous. Be careful to obey all the law my servant Moses gave you; do not turn from it to the right or to the left, that you may be successful wherever you go. Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; mediate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.”

Chapters in your life have endless possibilities and will end when it is time for them to do so. Don’t try so hard in writing it by yourself or you will end up rewriting your chapter over and over again. Let God be your one and only guide and things will work out just fine. I will lean heavily on the Lord as I go through this new journey because I already have a sense of what I will need in order to make it through seminary school

Leave a Reply

